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Posts Tagged ‘Mobile Marketing’

Aug
12

IAB Mobile Marketplace Video


By ntaylor   Permalink Trackback

On July 19th, the IAB’s Marla Aaron sat down with Paran Johar, CMO Jumptap to discuss Jumptap, the power of mobile, and the mobile internet.  Check out the video below.

Check out the event website: IAM Mobile Marketplace 2010

Aug
10

New Rich Media Ad Unit


By pjohar   Permalink Trackback

dunkin

Recently we launched a campaign with an innovative way to interact with mobile consumers: wiping away frost!  The ad appears as a banner and expands to a frost covered screen.  The user swipes their finger to reveal the icy treat below, and is brought to a landing page that locates the nearest Dunkin Donuts store.  Load up your favorite Jumptap partner site or app, including Myspace, Go2, FoxNews, Weatherbug, WeatherUnderground, Verve and Showtimes to check it out.

Paran Johar, CMO Jumptap

Jul
30

LA App Show Follow-up


By atowvim   Permalink Trackback

sfapps-jt-07

Bringing developers together, especially iPhone developers, is always exciting.  On Tuesday several hundred developers came together at LA App Show for a day of fascinating demonstrations and discussion.  The highlight for Jumptap was our interview with host Seth Socolow about how app developers can attract brand dollars into their app.  Jumptap’s Adam Towvim has summarized his key points below.  Stay tuned in the coming days as we post a 10 part series on how to maximize your apps earnings!

Attracting Big Brand Dollars:


  • Give ‘em Reach: Brands want to connect with their audience: wherever they are, across whatever platform
  • Quality matters: Brands want high CTRs and highly engaging Rich Media
  • Build audience knowledge: gather registration data (but don’t get in way of usability)
  • Build your audience story: Who are they, but more importantly, why are they using your app? What types of offers can be placed in front of your audience that would resonate?
  • Create Media Kits: Brand advertisers want to know what they are buying: unique users, monthly pageviews, screenshots of unique ad placement oppurtunities
  • Pass info: Anything you can pass with the ad call, you should: Geolocation, Demographics
  • Build the hooks: pre-app interstitial, banners, sponsorship skins — be creative but remember the balance between creativity and replicable ad buyer realities
  • Segment by quality: Especially in large volume apps, you can segment by CTR, for example
  • Side with the server: consider server-side updates for your app, wherever you can

What do you think?  Post a comment and start a discussion.

Jul
28

Click-to-video campaign


By pjohar   Permalink Trackback

the-other-guys1

Recently we launched a click-to-video campaign to promote a movie release.  Mobile users who click on the ad will launch straight into the movie trailer.  Load up your favorite Jumptap partner site today and you might catch it!

Jul
22

App developer’s need for Passport to Fr...


By pjohar   Permalink Trackback

Its been a week since we launched our $4,000,000 Passport to Freedom program, and in that time we’ve seen more than ever how essential it is to join the open, flexible Jumptap Mobile Ad Network. The battles between Google and Apple are raging. In the last several days we saw the Droid X sell out, then Google announce it had received its last shipment of Nexus Ones. Simultaneously Apple held a press conference acknowledging a defect in the iPhone 4, then days later announced the widened availability of the highly successful iPad.

That makes us prouder than ever to offer the industry’s most comprehensive array of ad solutions that run across any device—including iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android and Blackberry—all from one ad network and one single point of integration. Developers: Secure and increase your revenue today, by joining the Jumptap Mobile Ad Network and keeping 100% of revenue for the rest of 2010.  (Promotion details)

Get your Passport to Freedom today.

Jul
22

Retailers Are Seeing Solid Returns On Their M...


By pjohar   Permalink Trackback

According to a new study by Forbes Insights, retailers are seeing a solid return on their mobile channel investments.  62% say their mobile channel returns are either exceeding (17%) or meeting expectations (45%).  Nowadays, consumers are starting to look to their phones for a shopping experience and leading retailers are trying to capitalize and take advantage of this fast moving trend.  Stuart Feil, editorial director of Forbes Insights, New York states that “The ubiquity of mobile devices is changing how retailers interact with their customers.” The study also found that 3 out of 4 retailers now have some type of mobile initiative in place and another 20% are in the process of evaluating the mobile channel.  Forbes Insights predicts that Mobile initiatives will be getting a bigger share of retailers marketing budgets in the next three to five years. They also predict that mobile application development will shift over the next year.

To read the full article click here.

Jul
7

Marketing Mobile Applications in 7 Steps


By lcutts   Permalink Trackback

mma

So you’ve invested in building an iPhone, Android or Blackberry app. Now it’s time to drive adoption of the app, so you can justify the investment. Try following these seven marketing tips to get your customers to download, install and use your app.

laurie-cuttsCreate a unique app.  One of the easiest ways to shine in the store is to create a unique app.   Your app will stand out if you are the first app in your category of product or you reinvent an existing category.

Spend time on your submission.  Provide snappy descriptions that zero in on the key selling points of your app.  Be thoughtful about your messaging and keywords as they will help your app get found.

Design a great website.  Your app should have its own online and mobile website showing the app in action and communicating its key features and benefits.  Make the website interesting as it will serve as a point of reference, a destination to send users and potential users.

Make it social.  Getting people to talk about your app is critical for success.   Make the conversation about your app easy and engaging so people will want to share it on Facebook or Tweet about it.  The more people talk, the more visibility your app will get, which will translate into sales.

PR is important.  Develop a PR campaign for your launch as news stories can create a big spike in downloads. Create a press release that plays to your strengths and highlights amusing or beneficial reasons why people would use your app.   Your app should be easy to write about and provide access to icons, screenshots and videos. Dispense promo codes readily as they are a surefire way to put your app in the hands of the media.  You’ll want to reach out to relevant consumer and trade publications and invite relevant blogs to give some promo codes away for free in a raffle.  Review blogs and tech websites are an important part of the eco-system, the traffic and buzz they generate are worth pursuing.

Mobile advertising works.  In-app advertising can be one of the most successful vehicles to drive app-downloads.  If you have a premium app, you’ll want to begin by determining your target cost per acquisition.  For example, if you are charging $5.00 for your app and your cost per acquisition is $2.00, your profit is $3.00 per app.    For free apps, you may want to invest in a pay per download program.

Choose an ad network that allows you to target by keyword, context, demographics, mobile handset, mobile carrier location and publisher.  You can use an array of text, banners, rich media and video ad units to maximize the moment and attract the right consumers to your app.  Targeted ads lead to higher CTRs, more downloads, and more revenue for you.  Review your performance reports, so you can optimize your campaigns in real-time.

Invest in your launch.  Marketing and promotion of your app the first few weeks around your launch is critical to build awareness and drive downloads of your app.   When you launch, make it big. Following are some tactics that have proven effective:

  • Send out an email, text message and hit all social media
  • Launch a mobile advertising campaign targeted to relevant audiences
  • Send out a press release , write up blog posts and inform your network
  • Try to be a featured app in the store
  • Give out promo codes on Twitter and in the blogosphere
  • Run contests and give away prizes related to your app
  • Analytics are key to understanding your users including what features they are using and what messages and channels they are responding to.

Now to review, with mobile applications, do not fall into the  “build it and they will come” situation.   To succeed, you’ll need to put as much effort into marketing as you do into development.


App~Promo is a full service marketing, advertising and PR agency specializing in the promotion of mobile apps.  We work closely with our clients to develop consumer insights, build marketing and promotion plans, acquire more customers and drive app downloads.  Our clients include companies such as Upstream Systems, Sympatico, Zeebu Mobile, Bazaar Labs, Sony Music and Island Def Jam. For more information, visit www.app-promo.com.

Jun
12

Jumptap Participates in MMF 2010


By pjohar   Permalink Trackback

Jumptap participated in the 2010 Mobile Marketing Association’s Mobile Marketing Forum. The forum took place in New York City on  June 8th-9th and brought together the entire mobile marketing ecosystem together to discuss mobile initiatives. The forum delivered learning and network experience with a fully interactive agenda for the participants.  The forum included panel discussions from keynote speakers that spanned across all facets of mobile marketing. Interesting topics from the panel discussions included mobile channels, mobile consumer behaviors, targeting and optimization, mobile engagement and the integration and future of mobile commerce.

The 2010 MMA Forum could not have come at a better time - when mobile ad budgets are increasing and mobile is becoming a priority for brands and agencies like never before. As a leader in mobile advertising solutions, Jumptap is delighted to have taken a part in the  Forum and is looking forward another milestone year. Congrats to Michael Becker, the new North American Chair, for putting together a fantastic agenda!

Jun
11

MoMo Takes NYC by Storm!


By pjohar   Permalink Trackback

Not even bizarre interference from surrounding buildings stopped Mobile Monday (Sponsored by Jumptap)  attendees from mingling and spreading the word.  Over 500 attendees enjoyed a fantastic evening of networking, and Jumptap gave one lucky attendee a cool new iPad.

Jumptap Booth

Jumptap Booth

More photos after the jump!

Read the rest of this entry »

Jun
10

ADWEEK: The ‘Others’


By pjohar   Permalink Trackback


Check out Jorey Ramer’s “The ‘Others’ Mobile advertising is more than two players” published in Adweek.

“The last six months of jockeying between Google and Apple have put
a spotlight on mobile advertising. The news has been such that one
could be forgiven for thinking that these two companies have the
only platforms needed to reach consumers on mobile devices…..”

Mobile Minutes

Leading Experts Talk About Jumptap


See More Interviews in the Mobile Minutes Section »

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